Friday, August 19, 2022

The East

The East. The Romans named this area "the Orient" meaning "the East."

We may subdivide this province into two historically significant areas. We may refer to the first, the Tigris-Euphrates river valley, as Mesopotamia; the second, the coast of the Mediterranean Sea, as the Levant (which also means "the East"). Things relating to it are Levantine.

This province includes today’s Iraq, Kuwait, Syria, Jordan, Israel, the Sinai Peninsula, and a sliver of northwest Saudi Arabia.


North: Orontes River, Karasu River, Euphrates River (from Karababa Dam to lakes Keban and Hazar) and Tigris River (from headwaters to mouth of Buhtan River).

To the north: northwest corner of Incognita (Persia); across the Black Sea and Caucasus Mountains, Slavia.

East: Zagros Mountains.

To the east: Incognita (Persia).

South: Persian Gulf, Syrian Desert, Gulf of Aqaba, Gulf of Suez, Suez Canal.

To the south: Incognita (Arabia).

West: the Mediterranean Sea from Port Said to mouth of Orontes River.

To the west: the Mediterranean, Anatolia.

Major cities

Primary: Jerusalem, Damascus, Baghdad.

Copyright © 2022 by Steven Farsaci.
All rights reserved. Fair use encouraged.