Friday, August 19, 2022


Noricum was the name of a kingdom, centered around what would become Vienna, that was eventually absorbed by the Roman Republic. I extend the meaning of this name to include a larger area. Things related to Noricum are Noric; its people, Noricans.

As used here, this province includes a broad collection of today's countries: southern Germany, most of Austria, western Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia, northern Italy, eastern Switzerland, and the southeastern corner of France.


North: SaĆ“ne River and Danube River (until just north of Budapest where it begins to flow almost due south). 

To the north lies Gaul, Germania, and a small part of Dacia.

East: Danube (to Belgrade), Drina, and Lim rivers.

1. In more detail, one stretch of the Danube River runs largely south from near Budapest to near Belgrade and marks one part of the eastern boundary of Noricum.

2. Just a little farther south of where the Danube turns east lie the Drina and Lim rivers which continue this north-south boundary.

These three rivers marking the eastern boundary of Noricum are located at about the same place as the ancient boundary between the western and eastern halves of the Roman empire. They also mark the approximate boundary between Latin and Greek Christendom.

To the east: Dacia.

South: Adriatic Sea, Rubicon, and Arno rivers, Mediterranean (Ligurian) Sea.

During the Roman Republic, the Rubicon formed part of the boundary between the Roman provinces of Italy (which we refer to as Latium) and Cisalpine Gaul (which we refer to as Noricum). The Rubicon lies just south of Ravenna.

To the south of the Rubicon and Arno rivers: Latium.

West: the Rhone River from the Mediterranean Sea to Lyon.

To the west: Gaul.

Major cities

Primary: Vienna

Copyright © 2022 by Steven Farsaci.
All rights reserved. Fair use encouraged.